Must Read, News

Abbott's Shakilla Shahjihan becomes Chairman of The 2017 Gold Standard Awards

- -

PublicAffairsAsia today announces that Shakilla Shahjihan, Regional Director for Government Affairs at Abbott Laboratories Asia Pacific, becomes Chairman of The 2017 Gold Standard Awards ().

Shahjihan will chair a panel of industry experts who will oversee the judging process for this year’s awards which formally launch when nominations open on August 1.

Shahjihan said: “As The Gold Standard Awards approach their 10th anniversary I am honoured to become Chairman of the 90-strong judging panel who will review this year’s nominations. Since their launch, the awards have become the premier programme in Asia Pacific: recognising outstanding achievements in areas including communications, public affairs, NGO engagement and corporate citizenship.”

In 2016, The Gold Standard Awards attracted nearly 300 nominations over 19 categories. Reflecting the commitment to widely promote winning nominees and their achievements, PublicAffairsAsia today releases short video interviews with many of last year’s winners, alongside an online library of winners’ case studies which can be viewed here.

Added Shahjihan: “We look forward to building on these achievements in 2017 and encourage corporations, agencies, government bodies and non-profits to participate when nominations open in August.”

This year the programme will include new categories recognising “gold standard” achievements in Australasia, Greater China, South East Asia, India and the Middle East. We will also expand our engagement in digital, reflecting major shifts in the way corporations, governments and non-profits use social and digital channels.

Awards timeline:

  • July 3, 2017: Gold Standard Awards judges announced

  • August 1, 2017: Sponsors, categories and criteria announced as nominations open

  • September 30, 2017: Nominations close (entries permissible for seven days under late entry terms)

  • November 4, 2017: Full shortlist announced

  • November 30, 2017: Winners unveiled at awards gala reception in Hong Kong

For details on how to become a sponsor of this year’s programme, and reach an unrivalled audience of 16,000 practitioners and stakeholders, contact Mark O’Brien to discuss available categories and packages.

To find out more about the awards visit the website today. Full details on categories, criteria and the downloadable entry pack will be available online from August 1.


China citizenship Corporate citizenship Digital Gold Standard Awards Government India Public affairs PublicAffairsAsia